Hardcore mode is a Minecraft Game Mode that is a variant of Survival Mode, differing primarily by the lack of the abilities to respawn (Instead, the world is deleted) and change difficulty. The mode was introduced in Beta 1.9 Pre-Release 2 and officially added in Minecraft 1.0. The idea came to Notch from a Minecraft game play blog on the PCGamer site.
While playing hardcore mode, the game is set to “hardcore” difficulty, which only differs from “hard” difficulty in the fact that it cannot be changed to another difficulty while playing the world. When the player dies, the game over screen only offers a button to delete the world save instead of survival mode’s respawn or Title menu buttons. The world save still exists until the button is pressed, leaving the opportunity for one to keep the world by using 3rd party tools. Exiting the client and loading the world again only reloads the game at the game over screen.
- While playing hardcore mode, the heart icons of the life gauge are different.
- In the world selection screen, Hardcore mode is written in red.
- When a world in hardcore mode is created with the Beta 1.9 pre-release, then played with the Beta 1.8 version, the world is permanently converted into a standard survival world.
- In hardcore mode, you actually get a score once you die, as shown in the first gallery picture.
- When Notch announced Hardcore mode in Twitter, he also posted an image of an "Ultra Hardcore" mode where the premium status of the player's user account is revoked on death. Obviously, this turned out to be a joke.
- When and if you turn cheats on while on lan, then turn to creative and back again to survival you will still be in hardcore mode.
- It is suggested that in update 2.0, hardcore mode will have super-hostile mode instead of hard.